The club was founded in 1903 and in its infancy Lámh Dhearg was run By Art Magill.  In 1952 the club won its first silverware, the McKenna Ginley cup and the 60’s was a glorious decade as the club progressed from division 6 to division 1.  In 1971 wooden dressing rooms at Budore were blown up and in 1972 during a South Antrim Football game against Dwyers, three players were wounded as machine gun fire was directed indiscriminately at players and spectators. 

In 1967 the club won the Junior Football Championship and in 1971 they won the Senior Football Championship beating the Johnnies and in 1972 were runners up.

1971 Senior Football Champions

The club have participated in the Senior football league since the mid 60’s apart from one season and have won 7 Division I league titles in 1971, 1972, 1993, 1995  2004, 2012 and 2015. 

The club won three Minor Football championships in 1988, 1992 and 2010 and were runners up in Minor Finals in 1987, 1991 and 1994.

Over the years the club have a very proud tradition of players representing County Football teams at all levels. Past players and clubmen Frank Fitzsimons (Sen)Frank Fitzsimons Junior and Sean McElhatton have managed Senior County Football teams and Terry McCrudden was a selector.  

Former players Frank Fitzsimmons (Senior), John McKiernan and Sean McQuillan have  represented Ulster and J.P. O’Kane had the unique distinction of representing Ulster and Leinster and a Rest Of Ireland Select.  Former players Jackie Duffy and Sean McElhaton won Ulster S.F.C. medals with Tyrone and Jackie Fitzsimmons won a Ulster S.F.C. medal with Down. 

Frank Fitzsimons with county senior panel

In  Easter 1984 the club opened a new Prunty pitch with Floodlights and pavilion .The new facilities were a different class compared  to previous pitches such as Budore, The Rock Pitch, The Bullring, Magill’s and Hamill’s fields etc The social club has been a success in helping to finance the promotion and development of gaelic games and maintaining our facilities and has provided our members and local community with many hours of entertainment and memories and produced very successful Ladies Darts and Pool Teams. 

In 1985 hurling was revived under the inspiration of Kieran Megraw and Cork’s Fr John O’Donovan, who was curate in St Oliver Plunkett. and in 1986 we won the Junior Hurling Championship and Division 3 league title.  We were runners up in the Intermediate Hurling finals in 1995 and again in 2003, but disappointment soon turned into celebrations by winning Division 2 league title by beating Sarsfield’s in a replay and achieved division one status for the first time.